Holly Golightly

Leave a comment Standard

This was a big week for me and Susan. We had shows 2 nights in a row and in between we were celebrating my parents’ 58th (!) wedding anniversary. Friday, before our show, we had the pleasure of dining at Vetri for an absolute stellar meal. Good thing I am not blogging about food- I could not do this meal justice.

After dinner, we headed off to the Fire at 4th and Girard for the Holly Golightly show. It was quite the switch from the finest dining in the city to the diviest bar in the city. I know there is a metaphor in there somewhere….

A couple days before, I had gotten a text from my lovely friend Karen Gross, who was asked to open for Holly. She was most pleased to learn it was already on my docket, but even happier to open for one of her heroes. So we go there in time fro Karen Gross and the Love Notes (nee love Notes). They were spectacular as usual. If you remember, the Love Notes were a super band formed by friends for another friend’s wedding. They are now branching out and I was happy to listen to originals. Total bonus to the Holly show.

IMG_5062

In case you are not familiar with The Fire, it is a bar first, music venue second. One could describe it as intimate, charming, small or really, really tiny. It holds a max of about 25 people. And that is with everyone standing. So, though my knees buckled a little, I was kind of thrilled (ok, really thrilled) when Holly hit me with her guitar case on the way to the stage.

Holly Golightly is a British singer songwriter named after the character in Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Really. She came out swinging, singing and strumming. It was just her and her partner/ husband/ friend? playing the keyboards and they just played for about an hour. She chatted the whole time. She responded to comments (great boots), she drank whiskey, she

FullSizeRender-1 copyplayed her heart out. As I was listening to her, I kept thinking badass. I know that I used that word a lot in reference to Brittany Howard from Alabama Shakes. Don’t get me wrong, Brittany Howard is a badass, but there is something to be said for the musician that is still in the game and playing where she can. Sure, everyone wants to play the Mann and the big venues. But how many people play the little halls, the dives, the Fires? She has been around since 1995 and has produced 26 albums and she is playing The Fire. The Fire. That is as badass as it gets.

22 shows to go, 222 days left…

IMG_5106

The whole ticket

Leave a Reply

